The Kersten Stevens Experience

A Blog about the Talent, Music, Life & Times of The Jazz & Gospel Violinist

The Cereal Box

A KS Fan Asked: What are some of your earliest memories? What age did you start playing the violin? In my earliest memory of the violin I remember a doorway, a cereal box, two rulers and intense intrigue. I was three years old.  I remember the box being white with colored writing, though I cannot remember the type of cereal.  The rulers were transparent, brightly colored plastic – one pink and the other purple or blue, I think; the pink one was taped exactly center along the top half of the cereal box.  I held the second ruler tightly in my right hand.  I remember standing very still with the make-shift violin balanced on my left shoulder; I straddled a doorway with one foot on the wood floor of our living room, and the other on the cold tiles of our kitchen floor. The sun was shining brightly through the living room window to my left.

This memory is special to me because even to this day I remember the intensity of my intrigue and fascination towards the apparatus balanced on my shoulder.  It is incredible to me that even as a child, I could feel such an attraction towards the violin.

As to why I stood straddling two rooms, I’ll never know.  The best I can  figure is that my stance was an analogy to what my life in music would be – never exactly in one genre or another, but at all times a living hybrid. 

As to the sun … It has become an important symbol of God’s continual presence and anointing over my life. I’ll share much more about this in my upcoming entries.  

The sun shines on me, as I stand on our front stoop.

Me at 3

 For now, thanks for asking and reading!  Please share your comments. With love – KS

1 Comment»

  Sheila Moore wrote @

Kersten, LUV “The Cereal Box”–it’s awesome. A sound place for your fans to stay connected to your music. As for the rulers, I’m a big fan. My every day ruler that I use is the purple transparent style. It too has always been a found memory as a child. I know this site will be a blessing to all who read it. “Those who have ears, let them hear.” Peace Sheila


Leave a Reply

