The Kersten Stevens Experience

A Blog about the Talent, Music, Life & Times of The Jazz & Gospel Violinist

The Grey’s Anatomy Music Experience

The 6th season of Grey’s Anatomy premiers tonight on ABC and can I tell you how excited I am!!?  I first saw this show my junior year of college.  I turned on the TV, mid-season, and after 20 minutes or so, realized that every character in a leadership position (Chief of Staff, Head of NeuroSurgery and the head of interns) were being played by black actors!  I was even more elated to find out that the show  was written and produced by a black women – Shonda Rhimes.  WHOA!  More than these awesome tidbits, importantly the show’s sheer excellence nurtured my intrigue every Thursday for the last few years.  Now, five seasons later, I can’t wait for tonight.

Without talking ad nausium about all the cinematic things that make this show fantastic, I can tell you that the best unsung hero of the whole show is – THE MUSIC!! Alexandra Patsavas (the music supervisor) does an awesome job of using independent artists and in using music with lyrics that bring deeper meaning and sentiment to each scene. Without the musical experience, this show would only be good, not great.  For the seasoned Grey’s anatomy watchers – remember when Izzy had to say goodbye to Denny during the first season, as Meredith and the other cast members were in the room, and the music lyrics sang “I can’t express how I feel”…classic! The show inspires me to write music that could be played on Grey’s.  How awesome would this be?  I declare right now that it is so!!

Below is an interview with Grey’s Patsavas:


Below, catch a peak at tonight’s premier below and make sure to notice the “Wade in the Water” being played as soundtrack to the two minutes…

Did you notice Wade in the Water at the end of this KSE Recording (available on my Walks of Faith album @ iTunes.com)  

When you tune in tonight, enjoy the show, but pay attention to the music.

yours,

KSE


No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

